Food Obsessed? Not At All ;) (Top Chef Edition)

Is it odd to have trouble sleeping because you are thinking about cooking, eating or entertaining? Is it weird to toss and turn because you know a new episode of Top Chef is airing live? I think it may be slightly abnormal, but it is the reality I currently find myself in.

The Top Chef obsession is a relatively new one for me… Sure, I watched episodes here and there over the years, but I never caught the seasons at the right time so I never got wrapped up. Well – it finally happened – I am finally all-in hooked on the show, but now I can’t enjoy it because the only thing running through my head while the new season is on is how mad I am that I missed out on the earlier seasons!!!

How, as a self-respecting foodie have I not been watching religiously over the years? The cooking is cool, the chefs are cool, the chefs cooking are super cool. I like to see the flavor and texture combinations that the chefs come up with. I like to hear the criticisms from the judges. I like to see the different foods and ingredients profiled in the different locations. I love that they have just the right amount of drama and suspense. Like I said… I am all-in hooked on the show.

My first solution to this dilemma was to go online in search of all (and I mean ALL) the episodes from all of the seasons of the show. They are not all available on Netflix instant, they are not all available on Bravo.com, but… they ARE all available on iTunes!! Clearly the best plan – in order to enjoy the CURRENT season – would be to watch all the back episodes ASAP. Sounds reasonable, right??

Prepared for a marathon of Top Chef over the next few days… wait, weeks? How many episodes can I watch a day? I started doing the math instead of making popcorn… Six past seasons of Top Chef, Two past seasons of Top Chef Masters… I was looking at 106 hours of old episodes, maybe 100 if I skip reunions or recaps. This does not take into account the upcoming and past episodes I missed from the current season. MORE than 110 hours to watch before the next Top Chef starts… It may be possible if I quit my job, ignore the upcoming Top Chef Desserts, and stop blogging but I am not sure I like any of those options.

So… I need to edit… to select the best season or two (or three), to watch in their entirety (even the reunion eps. because you  KNOW I am not going to be able to resist). So… I need your help! What was your most favorite season of Top Chef? What was your least favorite?  Let me know! (Soon!) I need to get started.

Thank you 🙂

About SuburbanFoodNerd

I have been obsessed with good food my whole life - cooking it, eating it, sharing it with friends... After really getting into reviewing restaurants on other sites, I realized that my inner food nerd needed a bigger creative outlet! :)
This entry was posted in Guilty Pleasures, Top Chef, TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food Obsessed? Not At All ;) (Top Chef Edition)

  1. maria says:

    girl, you have A LOT to catch up on! 🙂 i think last season (the one with the voltaggio brothers) was one of the best. it was exciting because it had the sibling rivalry element, plus there was another dc chef there (mike from zaytinya).

  2. I LOVE Top Chef! It’s the only show I watched religiously all summer long.

    By the way, your aunt/my colleague (Trish Hummer) shared your blog with me. I also blog about food and cooking at http://theculinarycouple.com. Looking forward to following along with you!

  3. Hi Emily! So nice to e-meet you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

