Restaurant Review – Parkway Deli & Restaurant

Ok… It’s been a LONG week of lunches at my desk, non blogging dinners, a heartbreaking Redskins loss, and dreary rainy days. I have not had much blog time, but I have a bunch of great stuff lined up!!! In the meantime, I wanted to share a review that I did a while ago for one of my favorite lunch places – Parkway Deli!

(The following review was originally posted on Yelp)

It is no secret that I love salted cured meats. Pastrami? Yes please! Corned Beef? Of Course!! But there is something magical that happens when these delicious treats are combined into a hot sandwich.

The Parkway Deli makes GREAT hot sandwiches. The Reuben, the  1/2 Corned Beef and  1/2 Pastrami Reuben, and the “Delight” are my favorites. I mean – large piles of meat with melted cheese, dressing, sauerkraut or cole slaw on grilled bread???  Nothing better!  I have witnessed other people eating amazing looking sandwiches and entrees, but have not been able to tear myself away from my faves.

The deli has a front area where you can order Meats/Cheeses, Prepared Foods, Sweets, Drinks and other items. Don’t let the brisk carryout business and small tables out front distract you from the fact that there is a full restaurant in the back!

Walk past the cases of food and the kitchen, and you will find a large, efficiently run dining room FULL of people. NOTE – Once you are seated, be prepared to order quickly – the staff is busy, and it may be a little while before they circle back to you! This can be tricky since the large menu is full of tempting dishes. Never fear if you miss your first opportunity to order… once you have made your selection – there is a self-service Pickle Bar that is a happy distraction while you wait for your server to circle back.

Other menu items of interest include hot-tub sized bowls of Matzo Ball Soup, and rotating specials (roast chicken, brisket, etc) which you are sure to enjoy… But as you may have guessed… I recommend getting the REUBEN!

8317 Grubb Rd
Silver Spring, MD 20901

www.theparkwaydeli.com

Share

About SuburbanFoodNerd

I have been obsessed with good food my whole life - cooking it, eating it, sharing it with friends... After really getting into reviewing restaurants on other sites, I realized that my inner food nerd needed a bigger creative outlet! :)
This entry was posted in Blog Info, Guilty Pleasures, Restaurants, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

