Kitchen Adventures – Warm Steak Salad with Corn and Tomatoes

I would be remiss if I went the entire summer without a post about sweet corn! In our area, this delicious veggie comes into season in August and September, and I personally start jonsing for it in the middle of June!! Yesterday I ran into a huge display of local corn on sale at Whole Foods and couldn’t resist.

On the menu? A warm salad of corn and cherry tomatoes, topped with seared sirloin steak (also on sale at Whole Foods this week!). This super easy meal can be assembled in minutes.

First – get a pot of water on the stove for boiling the corn. Add a generous dash of both salt and sugar to the water. This helps keep the natural sugars inside the corn as it boils (this has SOMETHING to do with solution saturation and osmosis… I really should have paid more attention in science class… I can’t tell you the science behind it – I can just tell you that it works!).

Next – Preheat a cast iron skillet for the steak. Then, as the water boils and the pan heats – quarter some cherry tomatoes – I figure 1/2 – 2/3 C per person.

Things will start coming together quickly here – Submerge the corn in the boiling water, and sprinkle a sparse layer of coarse sea salt on the cast iron skillet (it will keep the steak from sticking!). Place the steak in the pan and let sit for 5 min or so, flip and finish cooking.

Take the cooked corn out of the water, and let the steak rest for a few minutes after cooking so the juices are redistributed.

Finally – assemble your salad! Cut the corn kernels off the cob and mix with the tomatoes. You can add several different things at this point, for instance a drizzle of olive oil, a pat of butter, or a favorite salad dressing (I used truffle oil last night, but I do not have one favorite!).

Note – You don’t really need extra seasoning since the salt from the steak will blend with the sweetness of the corn and the slight acidity from the tomatoes. Some herbs or thinly sliced green onions would also be nice, but I did not have any on hand.

Finally – slice the steak and arrange on top of the salad. (I also like to drizzle some of the juices from the steak on top  – but that’s just me).

Enjoy! 🙂

About SuburbanFoodNerd

I have been obsessed with good food my whole life - cooking it, eating it, sharing it with friends... After really getting into reviewing restaurants on other sites, I realized that my inner food nerd needed a bigger creative outlet! :)
This entry was posted in Eat Your Veggies!, Kitchen Adventures, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kitchen Adventures – Warm Steak Salad with Corn and Tomatoes

  1. Andrea says:

    My mouth is totally watering. I want this for breakfast, is that so wrong??

  2. Margaret says:

    The salt in a hot cast iron skillet is THE best way to cook a great steak indoors!

  3. Joelle says:

    Hmm, it seems preggos shouldnt be reading food blogs. I want to eat this now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

