Kitchen Adventures – Frisée Salad with Poached Eggs and Bacon

There are three things you should know about me…

1) I believe that the addition of an egg (fried, poached or otherwise) makes anything better.

2) I ALWAYS have bacon in the freezer – ready to go at a moment’s notice.

3) I really like to have breakfast type dishes for dinner. It feels wrong in all the right ways.

Armed with that knowledge, you will not be surprised to learn that this Frisée Salad with Poached Eggs and Bacon is one of my FAVORITE entrée salads, perfect for a quick weeknight dinner or a lazy stay-home brunch.

Frisée Salad with Poached Eggs and Bacon

** NOTE – Amounts of ingredients can be adjusted to appetite, number of servings and preference

  • 2-4 Oz Bacon
  • 2 Cups Frisée (aka Curly Endive)
  • 1/2 Cup Cherry Tomatoes
  • 1-2 Salad Dressing
  • 1-2 Eggs

Cut bacon (can be frozen) into small pieces and cook in pan over low heat until golden. Drain and set aside on paper towels to crisp.

While the bacon is cooking, wash and dry the greens (I like to use a salad spinner for this). Tear into bite-size pieces and put into bowl large enough to toss the salad in.

Wash, dry and slice cherry tomatoes in half, or in quarters depending on the size of your tomatoes. Add cut tomatoes to bowl with greens.

Lightly dress salad and toss well. Note – You can use store-bought dressing here, but I like to make my own using a 3:1 (fat to acid) ratio. (see addendum #1 below).

Add the dressed salad to final serving plate(s).

Soft poach eggs (see addendum #2 below), and carefully place on top of salad.

Sprinkle with crisped bacon and freshly ground black pepper – serve immediately.

I LOVE the way the salty bacon and warm runny yolks combine with the cool/bitter/crisp greens, sweet tomatoes and zippy dressing… ENJOY!

Addendum 1:

3:1 Salad Dressing (makes several servings)

  • 1 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil (you can substitute some of the bacon fat here if you are so inclined)
  • 1 Tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1 Small Clove Garlic – grated on microplane or mashed into paste *optional
  • Salt and Pepper to taste (freshly ground)

Combine all ingredients in bowl, whisk well until emulsified. (You can also add the ingredients into a small jar – tupperware if you like – and shake until combined_.

You can double or triple the recipe and store in the fridge for convenience.

Addendum 2:

Soft Poached Eggs (thank you Alton Brown!)

This tip came from Alton Brown, and I LOVE IT! I am through with the swirling water, one-egg-at-a-time nonsense!!! Way to fussy if you ask me.

Add at least two inches of water to a heavy bottomed pot. Add in a tablespoon or two of vinegar and bring to a boil.

While water is heating, crack fresh eggs into separate containers, removing shells as needed.

When the water is boiling, remove pot from heat. Carefully pour eggs into water, cover, and let sit for 4-5 minutes (for 2 eggs) or 6-8 minutes (for 4 eggs).

Remove eggs carefully from water with slotted spoon and place on paper towels to drain briefly. Add to dish (like the delicious salad above) or enjoy plain with salt and pepper.

About SuburbanFoodNerd

I have been obsessed with good food my whole life - cooking it, eating it, sharing it with friends... After really getting into reviewing restaurants on other sites, I realized that my inner food nerd needed a bigger creative outlet! :)
This entry was posted in Bacon, Breakfast/Brunch, Eat Your Veggies!, Kitchen Adventures, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kitchen Adventures – Frisée Salad with Poached Eggs and Bacon

  1. That looks great! I am going to try and make it.

  2. Harriet says:

    So beautiful! I’ll have to try it too 🙂

  3. Lula Harp says:

    A) I think I love you- bacon in the freezer at all times! 😉
    B) I do almost the same dressing but more 1:1 fat to acid, It always feels too heavy when I do traditional proportions.
    C) All hail AB! He is a genius
    I’ll be making this very soon! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

