So Very Thankful…

I love Thanksgiving.

I have been lucky enough to cook Thanksgiving dinner for my family and friends for more years than I can recall. I HATE that Christmas  has been encroaching on my favorite holiday… I also hate how busy we all get – sometimes I am so busy reading, planning, shopping, prepping and cooking that I forget to stop. I forget to be thankful.. and I have a lot to be thankful for.

I am MOST thankful for:

  • Every single member of my large, complicated, amazing, wonderful and confusing family. I am lucky to have ALL of you in my life.
  • My husband. I have known you since I was 14, and I honestly do not know who I would be today without you. You are my best friend, biggest cheerleader, and favorite person in the whole wide world. I love you madly.
  • My friends. You are all incredible, and I couldn’t imagine my life without any of you in it.
  • My readers. I can’t express how much you mean to me. I am still shocked that it’s not just my mom logging on – I am humbled that you are interested in what I have to say, and hope that I make your day a little bit better.
  • Those who fight (and have fought) to protect my liberty.
  • Organ donors and the miracles of modern science.
  • The people who work so hard to grow and harvest the food I put on my table.
  • Finding the courage to work towards my dreams.
  • My neurotic dog, Cole. You make me laugh more than I could ever have imagined. You taught me patience, and the joy of the unexpected. I would do anything for you.
AND (on a lighter note and in no particular order):
  • Gingerbread Lattes
  • Twitter
  • Having a good job in this hard economy
  • SUPER cute and SUPER high heels
  • Quiet nights in and loud nights out
  • Anything sparkly
  • Lactaid
  • Navigation systems
  • Football
  • Random acts of kindness
  • Noodles in any form
  • Hot Coffee
  • Lazy Saturdays
  • Pretty Sunsets
  • Crisp fall days
  • Kindles
  • Yankee Candles
  • Movie night
  • Bacon

What are YOU thankful for?

About SuburbanFoodNerd

I have been obsessed with good food my whole life - cooking it, eating it, sharing it with friends... After really getting into reviewing restaurants on other sites, I realized that my inner food nerd needed a bigger creative outlet! :)
This entry was posted in Holidays, Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So Very Thankful…

  1. Lula Harp says:

    I was getting concerned bacon wasn’t on the list, but there at the end you pulled it out ;).
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. MG says:

    Wonderful list, Hilary! We are all thankful for you, too 🙂

  3. Andrea says:

    Beautifully put, all of it. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

Leave a Reply

